

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of Dentistry

110 Centerview Dr • Columbia, SC 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia, SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4599 • Contact.dentistry@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4719 llr.sc.gov/bod

Registration as Dental Technician or Orthodontic Technician Requirements and Application Process Overview

Before calling in to the Board Office - You may check your application status online at: <u>https://www.llr.sc.gov/bod/</u>

Licensure Requirements:

A person is qualified to be registered as an <u>Orthodontic Technician</u> if the following requirements are met:

- 1. You must have graduated from high school or the equivalent.
- 2. You must have a good moral character.
- 3. You must successfully pass the SC Jurisprudence Examination.

A person is qualified to be registered as a <u>Dental Technician</u> if the following requirements are met:

- 1. You must have graduated from high school or the equivalent.
- 2. You must have evidence of one of the following:
 - Completion of two (2) year, Board accepted course of study in a school for dental technological work; or
 - Performed dental technological work under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist or registered dental technician for a period of three years.
- 3. You must have a good moral character.
- 4. You must successfully pass one of the following exams:
 - State Board Dental Technician Examination, administered at the Board office in Columbia; or
 - The written comprehensive examination of the National Board for Certification in Dental Laboratory Technology (NBC).
- 5. You must successfully pass the SC Jurisprudence Examination.

Application Process:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. Application In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
 - <u>Application Fee</u>: \$100 application fee must be submitted in order to transmit the application. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) *A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may be assessed on all returned funds.</u>*

Identification:

- Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
- Copy of Social Security Card
- **<u>Education</u>**: A notarized/certified copy of your high school diploma.
- <u>Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence</u>
- Letter(s) of Reference: Three (3) letters of recommendation completed by licensed dentists. Letters must be signed and dated within six (6) months preceding the application date.

Criteria of letters:

- Must be on signatory's letterhead
- Must attest to your good moral character.
- Indicate how long they have known you and in what capacity.
- Outline characteristics they believe qualify your for licensure in SC.
- Legal Documentation of Name Change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- <u>Personal History Questions</u>: You will need to attach a written explanation for any "Yes' answers in the Personal History Information section on a separate sheet of paper. Additional information may be requested by the Board Office or a Board appearance may be necessary.

Dental Technician Applications must include, in addition to the above listed items:

- **Examination**: Provide proof of passage of the NBC examination or CDT certification.
 - If you have not passed the NBC, upon receipt of application, you will be made eligible to take the State Board Dental Technician Examination, administered at the Board office in Columbia. This is a written exam on all phases of prosthetic dentistry, fixed and removable, laboratory techniques, procedures and occlusion, and infection control procedures.
- <u>Education/Work Experience</u>: Provide documentation of one of the following:
 - Completion of two (2) year, Board accepted course of study in a school for dental technological work; or
 - Evidence of having performed dental technological work under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist or registered dental technician for a period of three years.
- 2. Jurisprudence Examination: Once our office receives your application and fee, you will be e-mailed instructions with a UserId to take the exam online. A score of 70 or higher is considered a passing score. Do not send in your certificate of passing, the Board is automatically notified.

To prepare for the Jurisprudence exam, you should review the Dental Laws and Regulations located on the website at <u>https://www.llr.sc.gov/bod/laws.aspx</u>.